Page 1 of 1

Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:25 pm
by Das Troll
I have purchased a lot of those little mini retro consoles over the last few years and decided to make a 3x3 wooden cabinet to hold them. The making of the cabinet is not a problem for me but I do have a little bit of a wiring issue. I have a x8 port HDMI switch that does what most switches do when you have a devices connected to it and powered on, it auto switches to that device unless you have 2 or more devices on then you have to manually switch between the two devices. What I want to do is wire the box itself up with some LED lights that turn on in each space when I power the mini console on and then turn off when I turn the console off.

My problem is I don't even know what I should be looking into to make this dream a reality. Thoughts?

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 8:19 am
by Helladamnleet
Image

Pin 18 seems to be a 5v source which could be used to trigger a relay that triggers the LED, otherwise "Hot plug detect" seems like a promising location as well. Hell, at 5v even a basic LED might work.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 12:13 am
by Das Troll
Hmm I'll have to look more into this. I've never been good with wiring. I was hoping for some sort of premade pass through that would do it for me.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Sun Nov 24, 2019 5:47 pm
by Helladamnleet
Hmm, I'm actually surprised this ISN'T a ready made product now that you mention it.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Sun Dec 01, 2019 10:01 pm
by Faggotplats
I dunno but pick up a big old tv too.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 5:06 am
by Helladamnleet
That would eliminate the point of HDMI.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Mon Dec 02, 2019 12:39 pm
by Das Troll
The snes and the nes at least have the ability to emulate scanlines on your HDTV, so the whole retro feel is still there.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:13 am
by murderman143
cheap hdmi switcher,,"even a coaxal one conversed to hdmi, has leds,, really you only need to get a board to read the PWM on each input,,super simple if you ever looked into PWN or midi controlling lights from a andruino

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:17 am
by AngryIVer
I used to have a TV that detected when I turned on a different device, I wonder if there's a switch that does it?


@murderman I think he wants something that does it automatically/without any technical skills like soldering.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2020 11:42 am
by Das Troll
murderman143 wrote:
Thu Mar 26, 2020 3:13 am
cheap hdmi switcher,,"even a coaxal one conversed to hdmi, has leds,, really you only need to get a board to read the PWM on each input,,super simple if you ever looked into PWN or midi controlling lights from a andruino
Figures. I didn't even think about looking into into pi or anrduino. Thanks for the starting line.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:11 pm
by murderman143
https://www.hdtvsupply.com/hdmi-switch.html

  1. auto sensing
  • with leds to show whats all active
can have multiple active highest in the chain will be selected if m ore than one is outputting
  • no power cord needed
  • 40$ bucks on sale
but im sure there is a better option out there :pope:


lil wiring :mad: :rolleyes: ,, andruino to convert signals to the correct voltages then you can use a reg relay im fairly certain,,,, bruhh come one its 2020 this is totse ,lol

im fairly certain that these has to be a micro relay switch that can read the HDMI minuscule voltage ., prolly callled somthing dumb and used for DMX dj audio
lighting set ups
:weed:

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2020 7:11 pm
by AngryIVer
That's actually a great deal for an HDMI switch.

Re: Have a problem, don't know where to start

Posted: Mon Mar 30, 2020 9:35 pm
by murderman143
i smell a philip hue smart things hdmi hub xD would be tight cuz then you wouldnt have ot swtich to your dam ambient light and just chilling themems youcould just do it by input,, or even by what switch {any SWITCH"} is active... HMHMMHMHhm